Introducing…the one and only…Kara Kitchens!

As of this morning, my friend Kara Kitchens is officially coming on Semester at Sea for the next 4-5 months!  Her visas went through and she bought her plane ticket for the Bahamas as well.  We are going to have a blast and I’m so stoked to have a bud to share some of the best experiences ever!  [It’s always better to share an experience with someone else.]

Kara and I have hardly said a word to each other our entire friendship because, thankfully, she is a PRO ASL-er (and I’m a pro word-maker-upper).  We are way stoked to see Deaf schools around the world together (not sure how many yet, depends on which trips come through).  In essence, I’m excited to have someone who “speaks” the language of my heart.  She is also one of the most go-get-’em person I know and lives life to the fullest.  Anyways, we’re buds from BYU as she worked with me in the BYU ASL lab, was a fellow dancer in our Polynesian dance class, and took the wonderful Deaf Literature class with me Winter Semester. She graduated and then ran a marathon in Hawaii in August and she has been living in Washington state for the last semester.  Lets see, what else…she is pro with all things medical and apparently loves looking at surgery pics (yuck!)  Oh and she designs weddings/receptions…FOR FUN!!! (I know, amazing, right!?)  Whelp…I think that’s a good run-through for now…maybe take a glance below to see if she posts any additional info/corrections 😉  Also, I wanted to photoshop a picture of us together since we’re too lame to have one thus far in our friendship, but…well, I’m also too lame to know how to do photoshop.  So that’s our #1 To-Do when we are in the Bahamas.

Ok, ok…I think I’m finished.  Jan. 17th is coming way too too quickly and yet, at the same time, can’t come quickly enough.  One of the time continuum things that happen only while 1) studying for finals,  2) being in the MTC,  3) waiting for a phone call from a special someone, or 4) waiting for the trip of a lifetime… Time: it’s a mysterious thing.

[Click here to learn more about Deaf culture!]

http://dyarb7.wix.com/find-what-you-need#!home/mainPage

This entry was posted in Semester at Sea Trip and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Introducing…the one and only…Kara Kitchens!

  1. Melanie Kitchens says:

    DESTINY!! I was just talking about starting a blog for Kara’s trip too! But I’ve never done a blog before, so I wasn’t sure how to start. I think we have a picture of the 2 of you from her Graduation Dinner. I’ll look for it. But then .. how can I get it to this site??
    I just wish I could be a fly on the wall in your cabin. I’d love to hear (see) all that the 2 of you have to say during this trip! So jealous. Someday, I want to be one of the “lifelong learnings” that does this! xoxo
    Mama K.

    • Destiny says:

      Hello Mama K 🙂 I’m so glad you’re helping her get a blog up! So you know, wordpress.com has the email option so that we can email in our posts without using our very limited internet time 😉 Could you message the picture to me on FB and then I can upload it to here? I hope I get to see you at the end of the trip and we can share happy stories together! 😀

What is your opinion?

