Hello Ms. Marley’s 2nd Grade Class!!

Note WITH PICTURE :  Cuddles is the lil’ white stuffed bear that the children in Ms. Marley’s class gave to Destiny to take around the world with her.  Now ‘Cuddles’ appears in various pictures Destiny takes and the students love asking about ‘Cuddles’ adventures.  After the semester at sea Cuddles will return to the class permanently.

Note:  Ms. Marley was Destiny’s 2nd grade teacher as a child and is currently still teaching 2nd grade in Chino Valley.  She has posted a map charting Destiny’s course around the world with a little ship the children move along as Destiny’s ship moves to each port.  When Destiny described the 350 inches of rain per year, Ms. Marley had the children figure out how many rulers high that would be!

Ms. Marley’s 2nd Grade Student Maxx  wrote:

Dear Miss Yarbro,
How is Dominica? Is it a country or does it belong to somewhere else? It looks very small on our map, how big is it for real?  Did Cuddles get eaten yet? Have you seen a shark in the ocean? Have you seen a stingray? How about dolphins?  What is the emergency equipment like? Not the life jackets or life boat, all the other stuff that you said is cool.
Last week Drew came to our school. Do you know about Drew? She is from Chino Valley and she sang on X-Factor on TV. Ms. Marley took some pictures of her. Do you want one? She might come back sometime to sing for us.
from, Maxx

Hello Maxx!
Thanks for all of the wonderful questions! Our ship just left Dominica
tonight after two days of paradise! 🙂 Dominica is where Pirates of the
Caribbean 2 and 3 were filmed and it looks even better than on the movie
screen! The Caribbean is so different from anything I have ever
experienced. The island is a pure rainforest and is so very humid. It
gets 350 inches of rain per year!
Monday I went and saw the capitol city, Roseau. Many, many people live
there and the streets are tiny. When I road in the taxi I felt a little
nervous because they drove really quickly on the tiny streets and there
was no room for cars coming the other way or for people trying to walk
alongside the road. It was a wonderful exotic experience though!
Seeing the city was fun, but I had one of the neatest experiences that
afternoon. My friend, Kara, and I got in a kayak together in the
rainforest and kayaked all the way down the river! It went through
beautiful green trees and past rocks that were covered in green moss
because it is so humid here. We did a lot of water fights, of course!
Don’t tell Kara, but I totally won! 😉 The best part was that at the
bottom of the river was the ocean. We had to paddle extra hard to get
over the wake (where the river water coming out meets the ocean waves
coming inland). And we made it without even flipping! We then paddles
far out into the ocean and got to see the ocean from a distance. Think
of Pirates of the Caribbean and that is how beautiful the island is–it
is so so green! The best part was that we then swam in the ocean for
nearly 45 mins and then as we tried to paddle back up the river, we
flipped 😀 Good thing my camera is waterproof!
We were laughing a ton before we put our kayak on the beach and visited
a village nearby. There we got to meet some of the people and eat lunch
with them. We ate grapefruit, coconut and sugarcane. There are only
400 people in the village. I got to watch two sisters play with a hula
hoop and waved at me whenever I would wave at them 🙂 The people are
very poor here, their homes are made of wood and tin for the rooftops.
However, they are so happy!
Sorry, this is long, there are just too many good things to tell you!
So you know, Cuddles is doing well. He did stay on the ship during the
kayak ride (I think it was a little too scary for him and he doesn’t
swim well, ya know). But I will get some pictures to you guys in the
next two days. I have not seen a shark yet, but I saw parrots today,
extremely deadly caterpillars, and got bitten by exotic mosquitoes 🙂                                                        I will let you know when I see the alligators in Brazil!!

Thanks for writing, Maxx! See ya!                                                                                                                          Destiny

Hello Alana and Khalie!

We left Dominica yesterday and are already halfway to Brazil.  Not only did I get to kayak but I got to swim up a narrow gorge to a waterfall yesterday.  This gorge was like a really skinny, tall canyon.  I could touch both sides of the walls which were covered in bright green moss and I was swimming in cool water.  When I looked up I could only see a crack of sunlight above me.  Kara and I swam for a long time before we reached a waterfall inside this gorge!  One of the scenes of Pirates of the Caribbean was filmed here!  It was one of the top 3 most incredible experiences of my life!!

…30 rulers is a lotof rain!  It was hard for me to imagine so much rain.  I grew up in Arizona like you guys and we get excited if we get one inch! 🙂  The deadly caterpillars were eating plants that will kill any animal that eat it and if an animal eats them, the animal will die too!  Nature is amazing!

I miss my family a lot, but I’m just so happy to be doing good things in my life that I don’t mind being away from them.  My problem is that I want my family with me SO bad so that they can experience the kayaking and the mosquitoes! 😉  Thank you for asking how I am!  To answer your questions, I have blue eyes, four brothers, and I love reading as fast as I can.  I also love to play tennis, play the piano, and I even skydived one time!                                                                                                                                                                                                             Keep the letters coming, I LOVE THEM!!                                                                                                                Destiny

This entry was posted in Bahamas, Semester at Sea Trip and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What is your opinion?

