Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam & Angkor Wat, Cambodia

An older Chinese woman who sat next to me at the top of the Angkor Wat complex. We held hands as we watched the sun set. She was the neatest woman and even though we could only gesture back and forth and say “Shi Shi”, we became good friends. πŸ™‚

Traffic in Vietnam: all made up of motor bikes…

Cao Dai Temple Worship Service

 

Hello Family!

My first day in Vietnam was absolutely INCREDIBLE! I really can’t think of anyway it could be better! We woke up at about 5:30 this morning to watch as the ship made it’s way up the Saigon River to Ho Chi Minh City. It was one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen in my life and the fog just made it that much more mystical πŸ™‚

Sorry, I don’t have much time so I’ll have to write a condensed version for now. We got off the ship to find two members, Cassie (Vietnamese) and Spencer (American) waiting for us. They were both SO bright and we were instantly comfortable with them. Yay for members! πŸ™‚ We got a taxi and on the way found out that Cassie was the first member in Vietnam! She was baptized in 2006 when the church was first recognized in Vietnam!!! It was SO neat to feel of her spirit and hear her history. We arrived at the branch in time for the intermediate hymn (Vietnamese customs took a little long this morning so we were a little late) and immediately made our way to the available seats at the front of the chapel. Oh my goodness, I felt such a rush of emotions as I looked around this tiny branch and saw the incredible faces of the Vietnamese pioneers around me. After church SO many came up to us and introduced themselves and just made us feel so welcome. I could not stop smiling, I was just so happy to be there! We met the sister missionaries, one of which was SO happy and so full of the excitement of missionary work–I connected with her immediately and missed my mission so much.

—Sorry, I’m absolutely exhausted…I’ll finish this when I get back, ok? I love you all so much! Just know I’m totally safe and leaving for Cambodia in the morning. Not sure if I’ll have internet or not to be honest. Talk to you Friday night if worse comes to worse! πŸ˜€ —

Good night!

This entry was posted in Cambodia, Semester at Sea Trip, Vietnam and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam & Angkor Wat, Cambodia

  1. Pingback: When traveling, sometimes you just have to trust people. | Bring Me That Horizon

  2. Isn’t it great to travel to (almost!) all parts of the world and be able to worship with fellow latter-day saints? It’s such a faith-inspiring experience.

What is your opinion?

