Shanghai & Beijing, China

Hello hello!

Flew into Beijing yesterday and am flying out to Tibet early tomorrow morning! Sorry I didn’t skype with you guys–we’ve been pooped when we reach the hotel and the internet is pretty slow 😦 Sorry to get our hopes up–and Tibet’s internet is SO restricted I doubt we’ll be able to do much on there either. It’s been incredible to be in these Communist nations. As my friend Sarah said, “The biggest culture shock is the limit on freedom of speech.” It’s so so true. We have been given HUGE lists of what not to say in Tibet by our Chinese guides and such. We have special permission to go to Tibet through the SAS connections but we are also only allowed to go anywhere with the group and our guides, and we have to go into the hotel in the evening and not leave–it was part of the agreement we made to do this trip. I feel SO lucky to be on this trip and will be smart, no worries. Honestly, I just had NO idea how big of a deal this was. I was excited before but now I’m stoked! No one gets to do this and I just feel grateful 1) to be here and 2) to be with several really really good friends, 2 of whom I trust completely. So many blessings!!!

I love you so much family! I better go sleep. I wish I could skype, just know I love you like none other!!! πŸ˜€

Destiny

My trip got delayed so we were able to go first thing Sunday morning to the Hong Kong temple!

Here I am at Tianamen (sp?) Square. It was really sobering to think of all the students who died here. I can’t imagine that huge square full of students my age trying to make a difference and the massacre that occurred. Mom, remember the picture of the huge tank coming down the street and the single student standing in front of it? This is the place that it happened.

I’m in one of the inner courts of the Forbidden City standing in front of the bridge that only the Emperor and Empress use to enter.

We flew to Beijing and were SHOCKED by the cold. Not only did we forget it’s winter but our bodies have been in tropical weather for 3 months now! πŸ˜€ I have been adding layers of clothing by the hour and we haven’t even reached Tibet yet, lol! Here I am at the Great Wall with my awesome hat that I bought for $7. I feel nice and warm now that my ears are taken care of πŸ™‚

One more Great Wall shot πŸ˜€ The terrain was absolutely incredible and I have a lot more respect for the few enemies that actually did make it across the mountains, past the guards, and over the wall!

This entry was posted in China, Semester at Sea Trip and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Shanghai & Beijing, China

  1. Anna says:

    Was going to Tibet a SAS sanctioned trip?? Because we were told we couldn’t go out of the country that we port in.

    • Destiny says:

      Anna, good question πŸ™‚ Yes it was a SAS-sanctioned trip. I went to Cambodia and Tibet with SAS and then there was a Benin/Togo trip that was also offered by SAS. Tibet is closed now to foreigners, but I am hoping with my whole heart that China changes their policy towards Tibet in the near future and allows Tibetans their freedom. Are you headed on SAS? Let me know if you have any more questions Anna and I’ll respond the best I can!

  2. Liz says:

    I e-mailed Destiny and asked her to please buy me one of those awesome white hats!! She said that was the only one. SOOOO glad she found it, cuz it’s awesome!

    • mom says:

      Dad, brothers & l couldn’t help but laugh as we saw the pic of her ‘mega Russian looking hat’ , but with only her thin wind breaker for a coat, the mega hat was gonna compensate, right? πŸ˜‰ Very fun!

  3. Savanna says:

    Incredible!!!!!! I have always wanted to see the wall! πŸ™‚ What an incredible experience! I love it! So happy for you! I also loved the Yak- amazing!!! Were you way out of breathe at 15,000 ft? I think I would have had to have oxygen! πŸ™‚

What is your opinion?

