Making Dreams Happen: My Non-Profit Goal

One of the most exciting things to do is allow yourself to dream.  I am addicted to it.  But I think I have found a stronger addiction: making those dreams happen.

For those of you who don’t yet know, I am starting a non-profit with Tory (my dear friend from Semester At Sea).  Extensive details and a website are on their way, but suffice it to say that we will be providing the opportunity for future Deaf global leaders to study at the only Deaf university in the world: Gallaudet University in Washington, D.C.  After studying about Deaf culture, the strength of the American Deaf community, and the politics behind Deaf rights for one year, these students will then be empowered to return to their respective countries and set-up their own schools and fight for their own rights.

I was privileged to meet amazing Deaf individuals in many of the countries I visited while on Semester at Sea.  In most of the countries, obtaining a university degree is literally impossible for Deaf people, whether because their primary education centers have such low standards or because they have no interpreters at their hearing universities.  However, the Lord helped me meet amazing Deaf people who have sought to better their countries and their status with little or no resources to aid them.  They want to get an education so that hearing governments will be more likely to listen to their pleas for basic rights.  They are movers and shakers that have the passion and drive, but extremely limited opportunities.

Our goal is to “teach a Deaf man to fish” rather than feed him for a day.  We want to empower our Deaf friends with knowledge: something that cannot be taken away from them and something that is truly the key to great change.  We will need sponsors for these Deaf individuals to make their dreams come true and enable them to change their countries.  As Tory and I move forward in our dream, please keep up with our progress and take part in changing the world.  If there is one thing I learned from Semester at Sea, it is that ANY and ALL people can change the world, no matter their age, talents, or financial situation.

I truly feel that Semester at Sea not only opened my eyes, but provided me with the knowledge and experience needed to change the world. It is so exciting!  I am not afraid to dream big, and now, I am not afraid to make these big dreams happen.  I have seen the world; now it is the time to “Bring That Horizon” to all Deaf people around the globe.

[Click here to learn  more about Deaf culture!]

This entry was posted in Semester at Sea Trip, The Deaf Dream and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What is your opinion?

