Back to Beautiful Vietnam

As a traveler, all countries influence you, change you, morph you into a different person. But there are certain countries that stay in your heart and never leave. Vietnam was one of those countries for me and for most of my friends on Semester at Sea.

In Vietnam in 2012 on Semester at Sea.

In Vietnam in 2012 on Semester at Sea.

In June I was able to return to Vietnam. I returned to get Khiem’s college schooling lined up for The Deaf Dream (my Deaf empowerment organization). My experience was incredible; more than I ever expected it would be.

I started this blog as an extension of my journal during Semester at Sea. I think I’ll come back to that for the next few posts so that it’s easy for me to catch up on the last couple of months of traveling 🙂

WHAT IS SEMESTER AT SEA?

12 June 2013
I’m in VIETNAM!!! I’m so happy to be back. Cassie and Spencer [friends I met while traveling to Vietnam via Semester at Sea] picked me up at the airport and were so welcoming!
Lunch with Spencer and Cassie---they are amazing! Cassie has been learning sign language in the last year and did amazing!

Lunch with Spencer and Cassie—they are amazing! Cassie has been learning sign language in the last year and did amazing!

I love Vietnam. Coming back feels a little like coming home because I had such a sweet experience last time. I am staying with Cassie and her family this trip. We had scripture study and family prayer before bed, such a good feeling in this home!
 

You know you’re in Vietnam when…

13 June 2013
Had a chill day with Cassie. We took Bus #56 from District 9 (where Cassie lives) to downtown where we shopped and ate the most delicious food at the Ben Thanh Market for $3. Had a dragon fruit smoothy and have decided to have smoothies daily; they are my absolute favorite!
I'm living with Cassie and her family for my stay.

I’m living with Cassie and her family for my stay.

Dinner was really spicy. My eyes were streaming and my nose running. I’m not very good with spicy food as it is, but this reminds me of India; SO HOT!
 

I am in heaven. As soon as I got off the airplane I was flooded with memories of my last stay and excited for Round 2 of my Vietnam experience!

This entry was posted in Travels 2013, Vietnam Round 2 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back to Beautiful Vietnam

  1. Pingback: Holey Moley: I’m in Turkey! | Bring Me That Horizon

What is your opinion?

