Sarcophagi, Harems, and Dancing in the Streets

I’ve done more in the last couple of weeks than the majority of my travels this year. So I decided to be a little lazy and throw some of the random activities into one blog post for those of you who enjoy posts with little flow. 🙂

1. Sarcophagi

Efe and I looking at the incredible sarcophogi.

Efe and I looking at the incredible sarcophagi.

My Turkish family recommended I go into the Museum of Archeology. To be honest, I kind of went to the museum simply to please them. No offense to America, but our archeology museums tend to be FULL of arrowheads, pottery pieces, feathers, and perhaps a weapon here and there. I was SHOCKED to walk in and see rows and rows of sarcophagi in the museum. What blew me away even more was that they weren’t covered in glass! They were standing in the open for me to examine closely. Even saw some mummies incased in glass from thousands of years before Christ! My little historian’s heart was in heaven!

My little heart was bursting with excitement! :)

My little heart was bursting! 🙂

MET A DEAF FAMILY IN ISTANBUL

2. Harems

Every wall covered in intricately painted tiles.

Every wall covered in intricately handpainted tiles.

I don’t know why, but my travels seem to take me to harems or brothels. From China to Germany to India and now Istanbul, I’ve toured quite a few. 🙂 These were, by far, the most exotic and luxurious harems I have ever seen. Located in the Sultan’s palace, the walls were COVERED in hand painted tiles that went on for ages. Rooms and rooms were coated in carpets, couches and elegant decor. The ceilings were perhaps my favorite part because of the untouched details.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

[A funny side note: I TOTALLY got lost in the harem and couldn’t find my Turkish family who were waiting outside wondering where I’d gone… Eventually, they found me wondering around one of the many courtyards. 🙂 ]

The Sultan's Palace

The Sultan’s Palace

RAMAZAN DINNER WITH MY TURKISH FAMILY

3. Moses’ Staff and David’s Sword

It was pretty cool to go into some of the palace and see some religious relics. I was able to see Moses’ staff that divided the Red Sea, King David’s sword, and a myriad of relics from Muhammad. Whether they are legitimate or not, the point was they have been passed down from generation to generation for quite some time and were exciting to look at.

HAVE A DREAM?

4. Underground Labyrinths

Before I try to explain these, let me just show you a picture:

One of the most awe-inspiring experiences in Istanbul.

One of the most awe-inspiring experiences for me. It goes on forever and the lights make it surreal.

This is Istanbul’s Basilica Cistern: huge underground caves/aqueducts where water was kept and filtered for the entire city. It was built around the year 500 AD by 7000+ slaves of the Byzantine empire. It was SO cool and all I could think was that I wanted my family there with me to take it all in! 🙂

THE DEAF DREAM

5. The Christian-Muslim-Cathedral-Mosque

Standing in front of the Hagia Sofia.

Standing in front of the Hagia Sofia.

Built as a Eastern Orthodox cathedral in 537, the Hagia Sofia was then converted to a Roman Catholic cathedral and then to a mosque. As a result, there are Eastern Orthodox paintings of Mary and Christ next to Muslim calligraphy! Where else can you see something like that? I LOVED IT!

Efe and I inside the main hall.

Efe and I inside the main hall. Behind us on the ceiling is a painting of Mary and Jesus. Also Arabic calligraphy for the mosque.

Also, there was a place where you can get good luck or blessings by seeing how far you can twist your thumb in a hole in the wall. My Turkish siblings and I did it together. 🙂

Trying to rotate our thumbs to get good luck.

Trying to rotate our thumbs to get good luck.

6. Swimming in the Aegean Sea

Swimming in the Aegean Sea!

Swimming in the Aegean Sea!

A week or so ago I woke up, found out we were going on a drive, grabbed my camera and a swimsuit, and 3+ hours later found myself on the Turkey/Greece border. Haha, maybe they spoke in Turkish rather than English when they let me know exactly how long this trip would be. 🙂 I just went with the flow and took lots of pictures in the meantime 😉 It ended up being a GREAT trip. They have a farm there and so we stopped by to check on their new calves. Then we made our way to the Aegean where I swam in the beautiful salty, turquoise/teal sea. The sunset was incredible.

Incredible Sunset

Incredible Sunset

7. Dancing in the Streets

After Ramadan there is a 3-day holiday or Bayram. On one of these days I walked to the bank, met a Deaf Turkish family, and also watched a huge group of people join hands and begin dancing in the street. Everyone is so happy for the holiday and it was awesome to watch people who didn’t know each other previously join the circle and dance, clap, and laugh together. My friend Melissa got this great video below while we stood in the crowd and watched:

This entry was posted in Travels 2013, Turkey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What is your opinion?

